Spinning Wheels

Bike, upside down.
One finger, wheel
Sent spinning

Bike, upside down.
Hand on rubber and it, too,
Spinning

One more
Sent spinning.

And here I stand, watching
As my tires spin
And the brakes do nothing
And the wheels go nowhere
But I like the whirr.

Then back and forth I pace
And as one wheel slows
I push it back into motion.
One hand one tire
Just for a moment

I like the whirr, I said it.
As the clicking starts
And accelerates
And sings to me
And the orchestra in my chest
Is dizzy enough to forget.
Leave a Reply

