Is Joy Still Joy?

Is joy still joy when it’s anonymous?
Jokes that make me smile
Have never seen me frown.
It’s gently familiar, this.
But I can’t tell what I’m reminded of.
Not asking me “tea or coffee?”
But not asking me “rum or vodka?”
Not asking me anything.

Not searching.
Though the comfort gives me space.
But if anyone asked,
I'm scared of the answer
To “What’s she interested in, then?”

She's definitely Humanities.
Horses! She likes those. 
She carried a camera once.

And has blonde hair
Like a golden retriever
With a floppy tongue
And a cocked head
And so much joy
And probably isn’t thinking much anyways.

Is joy still joy when it's anonymous?
Does joy speak?
Leave a Reply

