What if we were laughing?

The cut on my right thumb
Is teaching me that I never
Hit the spacebar with my left thumb

It rests right there
Ready to space space
But habit keeps hurting
And at each damn blank spot
My right thumb sends aches right up and in
And my left is left limp

I just wanted you to know what I’m thinking about
‘Cause I was just here sitting on my couch
Thinking about how maybe you’d be here now
Or maybe we’d be talking on the phone
And maybe we’d be getting along
Maybe we’d be laughing
What if we were laughing?

Space  space  space  space

And now my eyes feel red and
My throat feels broken
And I’m
What if we were laughing?
It wouldn’t have taken too much to fix us.

I wasn’t happy. I wasn’t happy.
But damn. What if we were laughing?

Space     space       space                 space

Leave a Reply

